Courtesy: Russell Hons for
Fifteen from UND earn NCHC academic honors
Courtesy: Jayson Hajdu, UND Athletic Media Relations
Release: 02/15/2017
Print RSS
Related Links

GRAND FORKS, N.D. – The University of North Dakota placed 15 players on the 2016-17 National Collegiate Hockey Conference (NCHC) Academic All-Conference Team, which was unveiled on Wednesday afternoon by the conference office. 

To be eligible for the NCHC Academic All-Conference Team, a student-athlete must compile a 3.0 cumulative grade-point average or better while having completed at least one academic year at his current institution.

North Dakota’s honorees included: Ryan Anderson (So., Roseau, Minn.), Brock Boeser (So., Burnsville, Minn.), Danys Chartrand (So., Winnipeg, Manitoba), Rhett Gardner (So., Moose Jaw, Saskatchewan), Mike Gornall (So., Irwin, Pa.), Matt Hrynkiw (Sr., Saskatoon, Saskatchewan), Joel Janatuinen (So., Espoo, Finland), Cam Johnson (Jr., Troy, Mich.), Austin Poganski (Jr., St. Cloud, Minn.), Tucker Poolman (Jr. East Grand Forks, Minn.), Hayden Shaw (So., Woodbury, Minn.), Johnny Simonson (Jr., Grand Forks, N.D.), Matej Tomek (So., Bratislava, Slovakia), Chris Wilkie (So., Omaha, Neb.) and Christian Wolanin (So., Detroit, Mich.).

Anderson, Poganski and Simonson were also named to the NCHC Scholar-Athlete Team on Wednesday, which honors players with a cumulative GPA of 3.5 or higher.

Freshmen are not currently eligible for either the NCHC Academic All-Conference or Scholar-Athlete Teams and will be added following the conclusion of the 2016-17 academic year. 

The 2016-17 NCHC Senior Scholar-Athlete Award (previously Scholar-Athlete of the Year) will be announced at the NCHC Awards Celebration on Thursday, March 16 in Minneapolis on the eve of the NCHC Frozen Faceoff.

Uploaded Ad

Extras for the North Dakota fan

Partnership Opportunities
Mobile Apps