Senior Jack McClintock is tied for 10th after the opening round of the Beu Mussatto Invitational.
McClintock sits in top 10 at Beu Mussatto Invite
Release: 04/16/2018
Print RSS

Macomb, Ill. -- Senior Jack McClintock and his Fighting Hawk teammates battled through some tough conditions to get through the opening round of the 2018 Beu Mussatto Invitational on Monday. McClintock is tied for 10th after an opening-round 76 (+4) that saw the teams play in temperatures hovering the upper 20's with winds blowing from 20-30 miles per hour.

The original plan was to play the opening two rounds of the 54-hole tournament today, but tournament organizers cancelled the second round and shortened the event by 18 holes. UND and the remaining 15 teams will finish the invitational with 18 more holes on Tuesday.

"Today was a grind," UND head coach Matt Stricker said. "The elements were brutal, but our guys held steady and put together as good of a round as they could. Jack's 76 (+4) was impressive and if we can handle the conditions a little better tomorrow, I think we can make a run up the leaderboard."

The Fighting Hawks are tied for seventh in the 16-team field after UND opened with a 316 (+28). Indian Hills Community College leads a packed leaderboard after posting a 301 (+13) in the first round. Julien Sale leads the race for medalist honors and paced IHCC. He was the only player to shoot under par on the first loop around the Harry Mussatto Golf Course with a 71 (-1).

UND junior Jeremy Kirk is two strokes off the pace set by McClintock. He is tied for 26th after a 78 (+6) and classmate Ryan Riihinen is tied for 41st after shooting an 80 (+8). Fellow junior Jordan Smith rounded out the UND scorers with an 82 (+10).

Beu Mussatto Invitational (First Round Results)

1. Indian Hills C.C.    301 (+13)
2.    Cardinal Stitch   302 (+14)
3. Iowa Western C.C.    303 (+15) 
4. William Woods    304 (+16) 
5. Western Illinois     312 (+24)
t7. North Dakota 316 (+28) 

UND Individuals (First Round Results)

t10. Jack McClintock 76 (+4)
t26.   Jeremy Kirk 78 (+6)
t41. Jordan Smith    80 (+8)
t60. Ryan Riihinen   82 (+10)
81. Patrick Traynor   87 (+15)

-- UND --


North Dakota Golf

18-time conference champions
Uploaded Ad

Extras for the North Dakota fan

Partnership Opportunities
Mobile Apps