Courtesy: UND Athletics Media Relations
The 37th annual Athletics Hall of Fame event will take place on Sept. 24 prior to UND's Potato Bowl football game.
Three individuals, 2001 title team punch Hall pass
Courtesy: Jayson Hajdu, UND Athletic Media Relations
Release: 06/22/2011
Print RSS
Related Links
GRAND FORKS, N.D. - University of North Dakota Director of Athletics Brian Faison and UND Letterwinners Association President Karen Braaten announced today the 2011 inductees into the UND Letterwinners Athletics Hall of Fame.

Tim Briggs (Wrestling, 1986-90), Greg Melhus (Golf, 1995-99) and Michelle Puetz (Swimming, 1986-90) will be inducted as individuals, while the 2001 NCAA Division II national championship football team will be inducted in the team category.

Additionally, former Sioux basketball standout and current University of Northern Iowa head men's basketball coach Ben Jacobson will receive the Tom Clifford Award, while Roger and Joan Kieffer will receive the Honorary Letterwinner Award.

The 37th annual Athletics Hall of Fame event will take place with a brunch and induction ceremony on Sept. 24 prior to UND's Potato Bowl football game against Black Hills State. The Class of 2011 will also be recognized during halftime of the football game.

"Each of the 2011 inductees were outstanding athletes in their respective sports while student-athletes at UND, and have proven to be great role models for student-athletes to come. The 2001 football team provided UND fans with an exciting and successful year of football," said Braaten, who lettered in tennis at UND in 1971 and 1972.

"What a fun job we have as Letterwinners board members to make the selections for induction into the Hall of Fame. It is great to reminisce and recall the great contributions to UND athletics made by these inductees and award winners," Braaten said.

This year's four inductees bring the total number of individuals in UND's Letterwinners Athletics Hall of Fame to 231. The 2001 football team will be the 31st team inducted.

The 2011 UND Hall of Fame Class:
Tim Briggs (Wrestling, 1986-90): Won the 1989 NCAA Division II championship (158 pounds) ... Became just the second national champion in UND wrestling history ... Also advanced to the 1990 NCAA DII championship, where he placed third ... A two-time DII All-American ... Won North Central Conference championship (158 pounds) in 1990 ... Won 97 career matches ... Graduated as fourth-winningest wrestler in UND history ... Overcame dyslexia to graduate with a 3.0 GPA and bachelor's degree in marketing ... Originally from El Cajon, Calif.

Greg Melhus (Golf, 1995-99): Led UND to three consecutive NCC championships from 1996-97 to 1998-99 ... Three-time All-North Central Conference first team selection ... Two-time NCC medalist (1997-98 and 1998-99) ... Was NCC individual runner-up as a sophomore (1996-979) ... Has won multiple North Dakota Golf Association (NDGA) titles since graduating from UND ... Originally from Mayville, N.D.

Michelle Puetz (Swimming, 1986-90): A 19-time Division II All-American ... Graduated with more All-America honors than any other student-athlete in UND women's swimming history (currently ranks fourth all-time) ... Three-time NCAA DII relay champion and two-time runner-up ... Won national titles in the 200 and 400 medley relays in 1990, and in the 200 medley relay in 1989 ... Produced six top-four individual finishes at the NCAA DII Championships ... Three-time North Central Conference Female Swimmer of the Year (1987, 1988, 1990) ... Twelve-time NCC individual champion ... Led UND to NCAA titles in each of her four years ... Set multiple school records (since broken) ... Named a College Swimming Coaches Association (CSCA) Academic All-American as a senior in 1990 ... Originally from Thief River Falls, Minn.

2001 Football Team: Won NCAA Division II national championship under head coach Dale Lennon ... Went 14-1 overall to set a program record for victories ... Won 21st North Central Conference championship in program history (14th outright) with a 7-1 conference record ... Defeated Grand Valley State, 17-14, in national championship game ... Set program records for single-game sacks (14 vs. New Haven, Sept. 14) and single-season sacks (44) ... Led the NCC in seven defensive categories, including scoring defense (14.1 points per game) ... Senior K Cameron Peterka tied NCAA DII record with 20 field goals made ... Also set NCAA playoff record with 59-yard field goal against Pittsburg State ... QB Kelby Klosterman (six TD passes) and WR Jesse Smith (four TD catches) tied NCAA DII playoff records vs. Winona State ... Defeated North Dakota State, 19-7, to win Nickel Trophy ... Lennon earned American Football Coaches Association (AFCA) 2001 NCAA DII Coach of the Year honors ... Was also named 2001 Football Gazette National DII Coach of the Year and 2001 NCC Coach of the Year ... Boasted 12 Academic All-NCC selections and one Academic All-American (Mac Schneider) ... Set program attendance record in first year of Alerus Center ... Seven players earned All-America honors and nine were named to the All-NCC first team ... Three players were named to the All-NCC second team ... Three players (Chad Mustard, Chris Kuper, Matt Knutson) went on to play in the NFL.

Tom Clifford Award
Ben Jacobson (Basketball, 1989-93): Graduated from UND as program's all-time assist leader (420, since broken) ... Helped lead UND to four NCAA postseason appearances, including a pair of Elite Eight berths ... Member of two North Central Conference championship teams ... Member of UND's 1989-90 Hall of Fame team ... Two-year team captain ... An Academic All-NCC selection as a senior ... Received bachelor's degree in physical education in 1994 ... Served as student-assistant at UND in 1993-94, a graduate assistant from 1994-96 and a full-time assistant coach from 1996 to 2000 ... Recently completed his fifth season as head men's basketball coach at the University of Northern Iowa ... Led the Panthers to third straight NCAA postseason berth and third-straight 20-win season in 2010-11 ... Became fastest coach in UNI history to reach 100 career wins, doing so in 149 games (previous record was 164 games) ... Went 30-5 in 2009-10 to eclipse the school record by seven wins ... Earned the program's first-ever Sweet 16 appearance by knocking off the No. 1-ranked Kansas in the 2010 NCAA Tournament's second round ... Originally from Mayville, N.D.

The Tom Clifford Award was established to honor former UND President Thomas J. Clifford and his long-time support of UND athletics. The award recognizes UND alumni who serve as athletic coaches at the high school or college level and have been notably successful in their sport the year preceding the award.

Honorary Letterwinner Award
Roger & Joan Kieffer: Roger and Joan Kieffer are long-time supporters of UND athletics. Both are life-long Grand Forks residents and have been in attendance, both at home and on the road, for some of UND's finest athletic moments. Roger graduated from UND in 1959 and went to work for Dakota Sales Company Inc. in Grand Forks. He served as owner and president from 1976 to 2003 when he passed the company on to his family. He served as past president of Sioux Boosters and has been an active contributor of time and resources to UND over the years.

The Letterwinners Association Honorary Award is given upon official action by the club's Executive Committee to persons who, in the opinion of the committee, have contributed significantly to the furtherance of UND athletics.

The Hall of Fame induction ceremony, proudly sponsored by the UND Letterwinners Association, will be held at the Alerus Center on Sept. 24 at 11 a.m. For ticket information, please call UND Athletics at (701) 777-2794.



- Go Sioux -


Uploaded Ad

Extras for the North Dakota fan

Partnership Opportunities
Mobile Apps