Uploaded Ad
NCAA HKY Regional Ticket Sales
Courtesy: Tyler Ingham,
Johnny Simonson was one of four UND freshmen to earn NCHC Academic All-Conference honors.
Quartet of freshmen earn academic All-NCHC honors
Courtesy: Jayson Hajdu, UND Athletic Media Relations
Release: 06/24/2015
Print RSS
Related Links

GRAND FORKS, N.D. – University of North Dakota men’s hockey freshmen Cam Johnson, Austin Poganski, Tucker Poolman and Johnny Simonson have been named to the National Collegiate Hockey Conference’s (NCHC) 2014-15 Academic All-Conference Team for achieving a cumulative grade-point average of 3.0 or better this past season.

To be eligible, a student-athlete must compile a 3.0 cumulative GPA and have completed a full academic year at their current institution. The NCHC announced the seniors, juniors and sophomores on its academic all-conference team in March. The freshmen were added today upon completion of the 2014-15 academic year. 

UND’s four selections ranked third in the eight-team NCHC behind only Omaha and Western Michigan.

The four freshmen recognized today brought UND’s number of 2014-15 academic all-conference honorees to nine, joining seniors Connor Gaarder, Mark MacMillan, and Nick Mattson; junior Zane McIntyre; and sophomore Matt Hrynkiw.

NCHC 2014-15 Academic All-Conference (Freshmen)

Colorado College: None

Denver: Adam Plant

Miami: Louie Belpedio, Scott Dornbrock, Conor Lemirande

Minnesota Duluth: Karson Kuhlman, Jared Thomas

North Dakota: Cam Johnson, Austin Poganski, Tucker Poolman, Johnny Simonson

Omaha: Brock Crossthwaite, Grant Gallo, Joel Messner, Luke Nogard, Avery Peterson, David Pope, Jake Randolph, Brian Rideout, Luc Snuggerud, Tyler Vesel

St. Cloud State: Mika Ilvonen, Patrick Russell, Blake Winiecki

Western Michigan: Phil Bridges, John Carpino, Neal Goff, Scott Moldenhauer, Aidan Muir, Willem Nong-Lambert, Paul Stoykewych, Frederik Tiffels
Uploaded Ad

Extras for the North Dakota fan

Partnership Opportunities
Mobile Apps