Loyd, Dyer earn all-Big Sky honors
Courtesy: Mitch Wigness, UND Media Relations
Release: 03/06/2016
Print RSS
Related Links
RENO, Nev.-- Rebounding from a 1-4 start in Big Sky Conference play, a pair of University of North Dakota players were named to the all-league teams announced Sunday by conference officials. Senior Mia Loyd (first team) and junior Makailah Dyer (second team) each picked-up accolades after helping lead UND to wins in 12 of its last 13 games heading into this week's postseason league tournament.

Loyd, the preseason league player of the year, once again earned an All-Big Sky First Team nod, her second straight season on the first team and third time she's garnered all-league accolades. The 5-foot-11 Loyd leads UND in rebounding for the third straight season and is among the best all-time at the school. She goes into the postseason already ranking seventh in rebounds and 14th in scoring in her standout career. She has 35 career double-doubles, including 10 this season with averages of 12.5 points and 8.4 rebounds.

Dyer was honored by the conference coaches for the first time after a junior season that has seen her lead the team in scoring on 10 different occasions. The Madison, Wis., native averages 12.6 points per game this season and goes into the postseason needing just 22 points to eclipse 1,000 for her career, in just two-and-a-half seasons. She is among the top 15 in scoring, assists, and free-throw percentage in the Big Sky Conference this year.

Montana State's Jasmine Hommes earned the league's top player award, leading the Bobcats to the regular season title. Teammate Riley Nordgaard was the top newcomer with Alyssa Rader of NAU the top freshman. Weber State's Brittany Dunbar earned the defensive player of the year and MSU's Peyton Ferris was the top reserve.

UND has earned the four seed in the Big Sky Conference Tournament and a first-round bye. The Fighting Hawks will play the winner of Monday's matchup between Montana and Northern Arizona in a Wednesday 4:35 p.m. quarterfinal.

2015-16 All-Big Sky Conference Teams
First Team:
Jasmine Hommes, Montana State
Hayley Hodgins, Eastern Washington
Kayleigh Valley, Montana
Christina Salvatore, Idaho
Mia Loyd, North Dakota
Adella Randle-El, Sacramento State

Second Team
McCalle Feller, Montana
Regina Okoye, Weber State
Peyton Ferris, Montana State
Delaney Hodgins, Eastern Washington
Makailah Dyer, North Dakota

Honorable Mention: Deeshyra Thomas, Weber State; Apiphany Woods, Idaho State; Ali Forde, Idaho; Geraldine McCorkell, Idaho; Riley Nordgaard, Montana State

MVP: Jasmine Hommes, Montana State
Top Newcomer: Riley Nordgaard, Montana State
Outstanding Freshman: Alyssa Rader, Northern Arizona
Defensive Player of the Year: Brittney Dunbar, Weber State
Top Reserve: Peyton Ferris, Montana State


North Dakota Basketball

3 NCAA titles, 17 conference championships
2014 Big Sky Conference regular season & tournament champions
2017 Big Sky Conference regular season champions
Uploaded Ad

Extras for the North Dakota fan

Partnership Opportunities
Mobile Apps