Courtesy: Matt Schill,
Britton recognized for community service efforts
Release: 05/04/2017
Print RSS
Related Links

GRAND FORKS, N.D. – Senior basketball player Quinton Hooker and junior volleyball player Sydney Griffin received the University of North Dakota's top individual honors tonight at the athletic department's annual Night of Champions awards gala at the Empire Arts Center.

Hooker, who led the men's basketball program to its first NCAA Division I Tournament appearance, was named Glenn “Red” Jarrett Male Athlete of the Year, while volleyball setter Griffin, the Big Sky Conference's Most Valuable Player, was named the Grace Rhonemus Female Athlete of the Year.

Hooker, a senior forward from Brooklyn Park, Minn., repeated as both a Lou Henson Mid-Major All-American and the College Court Report Mid-Major Player of the Year (fan vote) after leading the Fighting Hawks in scoring (19.3 ppg) en route to Big Sky regular-season and tournament championships. He earned Big Sky Conference Tournament MVP honors with a 28-point performance in the conference championship against Weber State and added 25 points in the NCAA Tournament against Arizona.

Hooker graduates as the No. 6 scorer in UND history (1,787) and ranks fourth in career assists (417).

Other finalists for the Glenn “Red” Jarrett Male Athlete of the Year award included Jimmy Evers (track & field), Tucker Poolman (hockey), Cole Reyes (football) and Jacob Wielinski (swimming & diving).

Griffin was named Big Sky Conference MVP after ranking 19th in Division I with 1,316 assists and leading UND to a school-record 26 wins and Big Sky regular-season and tournament titles. The Marshall, Minn., native also led UND to its first NCAA DI Tournament appearance and was a Volleyball Magazine All-America honorable mention, the first player in UND's Division I era to earn such honors.

Griffin will enter her senior year already ranked seven in the school history with 2,796 career assists.

Other finalists for the Grace Rhonemus Female Athlete of the Year award included Makailah Dyer (basketball), Jayd Eggert (track & field), Steph Frey (swimming & diving), Jenna Janu (golf), Halli Krzyzaniak (hockey) and Kaylin VanDomelen (softball).

UND's other 2016-17 award recipients included:

Male Scholar-Athlete of the Year: Jacob Wielinski | Swimming & Diving | SO | Free | Moundsview, Minn.

  • A mathematics major (coaching minor) with a 3.933 grade-point average
  • WAC champion in the 1650 Freestyle, school record-holder in 1650 Freestyle and 400 Individual Medley
  • 2016 U.S. Olympic Trials participant
  • Finalists: Conner Avants (basketball), Brian Labat (football), Nate Peterson (track & field/cross country), Daniel Sayler (golf), Johnny Simonson (hockey)

                                                                                                                                                                  Female Scholar-Athlete of the Year: Makailah Dyer | Basketball | SR | G | Madison, Wis.

  • A Kinesiology graduate student with a 4.0 grade-point average
  • Two-time All-Big Sky Conference First Team (unanimous selection in 2016-17)
  • Led Fighting Hawks in scoring (15.0 ppg)
  • Finalists: Dani DelGreco (golf), Alia Deming (tennis), Steph Frey (swimming & diving), Halli Krzyzaniak (hockey), Bethany Schultz (track)

Male Scholar Team of the Year: Cross Country | Head Coach: Dick Clay (repeat winner)

  • 3.50 cumulative GPA from Spring 2016 through Fall 2016 semesters
  • Finalists: Golf, Track & Field

Female Scholar Team of the Year:
Golf | Head Coach: Natalie Martinson (repeat winner)

  • 3.49 cumulative GPA from Spring 2016 through Fall 2016 semesters
  • Finalists: Cross Country, Swimming & Diving

Male Freshman of the Year: Tyson Jost | Hockey | F | St. Albert, Alberta

  • NCHC All-Rookie Team, NCHC Frozen Faceoff All-Tournament Team, IIHF World Junior Championship silver medalist
  • Won school-record 60.1 percent of his faceoffs, ranked second among NCHC freshmen in goals (16) and points per game (1.06)
  • Finalists: Ivar Iverson (swimming & diving), Patrick Traynor (golf), Noah Wanzek (football)

Female Freshman of the Year: Katie Breault | Swimming | Fly/IM | Ottawa, Ontario

  • WAC Female Freshman of the Year, two-time WAC champion
  • Set school records in 200 Freestyle, 200 Individual Medley, 400 Individual Medley, 100 Butterfly
  • Finalists: Ryleigh Houston (hockey), Alex Revenig (tennis), Ally Rogers (golf)

Male Unsung Hero: Drick Bernstine | Basketball | JR | F | Aurora, Colo. (repeat winner)

  • Led Big Sky champions in rebounding (7.5 rpg); ranked fifth in Big Sky in rebounding and eighth in FG pct. (53.2)
  • Had season-best 20 points, 15 rebounds in NCAA Tournament vs. Arizona
  • Finalists: Dustin Britton (tennis), Ian Collins (track & field), Bruce Nerheim (swimming & diving), Austin Poganski (hockey), Alex Reed (football)

Female Unsung Hero: Samantha Roscoe | Basketball | SR | F | Perth, Western Australia

  • Key reserve averaged 10.4 ppg, 5.0 rpg for Big Sky champions
  • Ranked second in Big Sky in blocked shots (50)
  • Finalists: Larissa Juelich (track & field/cross country), Julia Kaczorowska (volleyball), Preethi Kasilingam (tennis), Amy Menke (hockey), Katie Moller (soccer), Matty Tschider (golf), Jess Warfield (swimming & diving), Rachael Waynick (softball)                                                                                                                                                                  
    Male Individual Community Service: Dustin Britton | Tennis | JR | Plymouth, Minn.
  • Led all male student-athletes with 50 hours of community service
  • Volunteered for the North Dakota Museum of Art, SAAC Food Drive, UND Wellness Center Green Glo Run and more
  • Finalists: Darin Baltezore (track & field/cross country), Drick Bernstine (basketball)                                                                  

Female Individual Community Service: McKenzie Jeske | Swimming | SR | Breast/IM | Bismarck, N.D.

  • Led all UND student-athletes with 261.25 hours of community service and serves as SAAC President
  • Volunteered for several organizations, including SAAC Pen Pals, The Big Event, Metropolitan Ministries, and more
  • Finalists: Steph Frey (swimming & diving), Paige Prestigiacomo (swimming & diving)

Male Team Community Service Award: Basketball

  • Totaled 386.5 hours of community service (25.78 hours per student-athlete)
  • Volunteered for organizations including the YMCA, Samaritan's Feet, South Middle School, and more
  • Finalists: Tennis, Track & Field

Female Team Community Service Award: Swimming & Diving

  • Totaled 1,095.75 hours of community service (39.13 hours per student-athlete)
  • Volunteered for organizations including Metropolitan Ministries, The Big Event UND Move-In Day, and more
  • Finalists: Basketball, Softball

Notes: UND's Student-Athlete Advisory Committee (SAAC) officers McKenzie Jeske (President, Swimming & Diving), Megan Kienholz (Vice-President, Track & Field), Quinton Hooker (Secretary, Basketball), Larissa Juelich (track & field) and Ian Collins (Social Media Coordinator, Track & Field) were recognized for their service … The women's swimming & diving team won its third consecutive SAAC Cup, given to the team that accumulates the most points in three areas: 1) Attendance at other home sporting events, 2) Team semester grade-point averages during Spring 2016 and Fall 2016 semesters, 3) Team community service hours.

Uploaded Ad

Extras for the North Dakota fan

Partnership Opportunities
Mobile Apps