Courtesy: Russell Hons for
Sophomore Ludvig Hoff has six goals and 22 points in 55 career games at North Dakota.
Ludvig Hoff named to Norwegian Olympic Team
Courtesy: Jayson Hajdu, UND Athletic Media Relations
Release: 01/24/2018
Print RSS

GRAND FORKS, N.D. -- North Dakota sophomore forward Ludvig Hoff has been selected to represent his native Norway at the 2018 Winter Olympic Games in Pyeongchang, South Korea.

Hoff, a native of Oslo, will become the 29th UND product to compete in men's hockey at the Winter Olympics and the first to represent Norway. Earlier this month, former UND All-America defenseman Chay Genoway was selected to represent Canada at the 2018 Winter Olympics.

"That was good news to wake up to," said Hoff. "Obviously I’m very honored. It’s a childhood dream come true. I don't think I’ve really processed the whole thing yet. I’m obviously really happy."

In 19 games this season, Hoff has two goals and four assists and has won 53 percent of his faceoffs. Last season, Hoff registered four goals and 12 assists in 36 games as a freshman and was named to both the National Collegiate Hockey Conference (NCHC) Academic All-Conference Team and Scholar-Athlete Team.

The 12-team Olympic men's hockey tournament will be held from Feb. 14-25.

"Growing up in your home country, you strive to play for the national team at any level. To play on the Olympic stage is the ultimate goal and I'm very happy for him," said UND head coach Brad Berry

Additionally, six former UND women's hockey players were also selected to represent their respective countries in Pyeongchang: Johanna Fällman (Sweden), Jocelyne Lamoureux-Davidson (USA), Monique Lamoureux-Morando (USA), Michelle Karvinen (Finland), Emma Nuutinen (Finland) and Susanna Tapani (Finland), 

Also of note, former UND Athletics intern Andy Parr will serve as production engineer for NBC Sports' broadcast coverage of the 2018 Winter Olympic Games.

UND Men's Hockey Olympians:

Year    Site    Player  Country  Medal
1952  Oslo, Norway  John Noah  USA  Silver
1956  Cortina d'Ampezzo, Italy  Gordon Christian  USA  Silver
   Dan McKinnon  USA  Silver
 Ken Purpur  USA  Silver
1964  Innsbruck, Austria  Tom Yurkovich  USA
 Bill Reichart  USA
 Don Ross  USA
1968  Grenoble, France  Don Ross  USA
1972  Sapporo, Japan  Mike Curran  USA  Silver
1980  Lake Placid, N.Y.  Dave Christian  USA  Gold
   Roger Lamoureux    Canada
 Kevin Maxwell  Canada
1984  Sarajevo, Yugoslavia  Bob DePiero  Italy
 Dave Donnelly  Canada
 James Patrick  Canada
 Dave Tippett  Canada
1988  Calgary, Canada  Bob Joyce  Canada
 Gord Sherven  Canada
1992  Albertville, France  Dave Tippett  Canada    Silver
1994  Lillehammer, Norway  Greg Johnson  Canada  Silver
2002  Salt Lake City, Utah  Ed Belfour  Canada  Gold
2006  Turin, Italy  Jason Blake  USA
2010  Vancouver, Canada  Zach Parise  USA  Silver
   Jonathan Toews  CAN  Gold
2014  Sochi, Russia  T.J. Oshie  USA
 Zach Parise  USA
 Jonathan Toews  CAN  Gold
2018  Pyeongchang, South Korea    Chay Genoway  CAN
 Ludvig Hoff  Norway

Uploaded Ad

Extras for the North Dakota fan

Partnership Opportunities
Mobile Apps