North Dakota Athletics
Junior Geno Crandall was named to the All-Big Sky second team for the second-consecutive season on Monday.
Crandall lands on All-Big Sky second team
Release: 03/05/2018
Related Links

RENO, Nev. -- For the second-consecutive season, North Dakota's Geno Crandall claimed All-Big Sky accolades after league officials announced Monday that he was named to the second team. The junior point guard led UND in scoring during the regular season, averaging 16.5 ppg and enters the Big Sky Tournament with a career-best stretch of nine-consecutive double-figure scoring games. Crandall received the same recognition from the league's coaches as a sophomore.

"I'm excited for Geno. It's a great honor," UND head coach Brian Jones said. "We've had some quality guards receive all-league honors here at North Dakota. It's great that he can carry on that tradition that we are building here."

Crandall was once again one of the top shooters among Big Sky guards, knocking down better than 50 percent of his field-goal attempts. He also led the team in assists with 104 and tops the Big Sky with 59 steals on the season.

He moved into UND's top-20 career list for scoring this season (17th; 1,311) and top-10 career lists for steals (4th; 182) and assists (369; 7th) as well. 

2017-18 All-Big Sky Conference Teams
Position, Class (School)

Bogdan Bliznyuk*, Guard/Forward, Senior (Eastern Washington)

Andre Spight*, Guard, Senior (Northern Colorado)

Jerrick Harding*, Guard, Sophomore (Weber State)

Ahmaad Rorie, Guard, Junior (Montana)

Brayon Blake, Forward, Senior (Idaho)


Victor Sanders, Guard, Senior (Idaho)
Michael Oguine, Guard, Junior (Montana)

Tyler Hall, Guard, Junior (Montana State)

Justin Strings, Forward, Senior (Sacramento State)
Geno Crandall, Guard, Junior (North Dakota)


Jamar Akoh, Forward, Junior (Montana)

Jared Stutzman, Guard/Forward, Sophomore (Idaho State)
Zach Braxton, Forward/Center, Junior (Weber State)
Ryan Richardson, Guard, Senior (Weber State)
Jordan Davis, Guard, Junior (Northern Colorado)

Honorable mention: Mason Peatling, Eastern Washington; Brandon Boyd, Idaho State; Harald Frey, Montana State; Brandon Hollins, Portland State; and Bryce Canda, Portland State

Individual Award Winners
Most Valuable Player: Bogdan Bliznyuk, Sr., G/F, Eastern Washington
Newcomer of the Year: Andre Spight, Sr., G, Northern Colorado
Freshman of the Year: Holland Woods, Fr., G, Portland State
Defensive Player of the Year: Michael Oguine, Jr., G, Montana
Top Reserve: Brandon Boyd, So., G, Idaho State

Crandall and the Fighting Hawks begin their Big Sky Tournament title defense on Tuesday against Montana State at 2:05 p.m. CT.

-- UND --

To remove your e-mail address from our mailing list, please click on Customer Care and select Remove From Mailing List from the Area of Interest list and specify your e-mail address. Note: This does not apply to opt-in e-mail. To modify your opt-in e-mail deliveries, log in to the site and modify your preferences. Customer Care