North Dakota men's hockey national champions: 1986-87
Courtesy: UND Athletics Media Relations
Release: 08/13/2010
Print RSS
Related Links

FRONT ROW(L to R): Ed Belfour, Scott Brower, Mickey Krampotich, Asst. Coach Dean Blais, Perry Nakonechny, Tarek Howard, Asst. Coach Cary Eades, Head Coach Gino Gasparini, Bill Claviter, Jeff Bowen, Asst. Coach John Marks, Mal Parks, Greg Strome, Steve Peters; BACK ROW: Trainer Boyd Murray, Scott Koberinski, Darryn Fossand, Ian Kidd, Mike LaMoine, Peter Pappin, Rick Forst, Scott Brickey, Grant Paranica, Gary Kaiser, Murray Baron, Bob Joyce, Steve Johnson, Scott Dub, Tony Hrkac, Lee Davidson, Tom Benson, Brent Bobyck, Russ Parent, Equipment Manager Dave Kamrowski

Michigan State vs. North Dakota
March 28, 1987
NCAA Championship
Joe Louis Arena, Detroit, Mich. (17,644)

Scoring 1 2 3 OT F
Michigan State
North Dakota 3

1st Period- UND: Ian Kidd (Bob Joyce) 15:07 ppg; UND: Murray Baron (Jeff Bowen, Ian Kidd) 16:44; UND: Bob Joyce (Ian Kidd, Tony Hrkac) 17:02

2nd Period- MSU: Tom Tilley (Brian McReynolds, Mitch Messier) 8:30; UND: Malcolm Parks (Scott Koberinski) 15:05; MSU: Kevin Miller (unassisted) 16:56

3rd Period- UND: Brent Bobyck (Russ Parent) 7:54; MSU: Kip Miller (Kevin Miller) 18:34

Penalties: UND 5-10; MSU 6-12

Power Plays: UND 1-5; MSU 0-4

Shots: UND 8-9-6--23; MSU 2-8-8-18

Saves: UND Belfour 2-6-7--15/60:00; MSU Essensa 5-8-5--8/60:00

  • UND’s third national title in the past eight years. The Sioux defeated Michigan State 5-3 in Detroit, Mich., the second time that North Dakota would defeat the Spartans for a national title.
  • Head coach Gino Gasparini, with his third title in hand, would go on to coach for seven more seasons, accumulating a record of 392-248-24 (.608) from 1978-94.
  • North Dakota would post a 40-8-0 record (NCAA Record) and win its seventh WCHA title.
  • UND won 24 of its final 26 games of the season in the record-setting year.
  • Tony Hrkac became North Dakota’s only Hobey Baker winner and set a national record for points in a season with 116.
  • Hrkac, Bob Joyce and Ian Kidd were named first team All-Americans and freshman Ed Belfour was named to the second team. Belfour would play just a single season before signing a pro contract.
  • Hrkac was named the NCAA Tournament Most Outstanding Player and to the All-Tournament team along with Belfour, Kidd, and Joyce.
  • The WCHA Most Valuable Player was Hrkac, and Belfour, Hrkac, Kidd and Joyce were named All-WCHA first team.
Uploaded Ad

Extras for the North Dakota fan

Partnership Opportunities
Mobile Apps