Uploaded Ad
sit down and cheer
Logan, three Fighting Hawks nab Big Sky accolades
Courtesy: Jayson Hajdu, UND Athletic Media Relations
Release: 10/31/2017
Print RSS
Related Links

GRAND FORKS, N.D. – The University of North Dakota soccer team enjoyed its biggest haul of conference hardware as a Division I program on Tuesday when the Big Sky Conference announced its 2017 all-conference teams and individual award winners.

Sophomore Catherine Klein was named the 2017 Big Sky Conference Goalkeeper of the Year and was joined on the All-Big Sky First Team by junior forward Katie Moller. It marked the first time UND has placed a player on the Big Sky First Team and it was the first time in program history at any level that UND has had two first-team selections in the same season.

Additionally, junior defender Emma Contino was an All-Big Sky Conference Honorable Mention and first-year head coach Chris Logan was named the Big Sky Coach of the Year.

Klein, a native of Colorado Springs, Colo., started in all 10 of UND’s conference games in 2017, going 4-4-1 with a 1.02 goals against average, .881 save percentage and five shutouts. She led the conference in both saves (74) and saves per game (0.74) during league play.

Moller, a native of West Linn, Ore., scored six goals and 15 points in 10 Big Sky matches and led the conference in shots (57) and shots per game (5.70). She tied for second in the conference in goals, goals per game (0.60), points, points per game (1.50) and game-winning goals (3).

Contino, who hails from Colorado Springs, Colo., anchored a UND defensive unit that yielded just 10 goals in 10 conference matches, with shutouts in half of those games.

Logan engineered a four-win improvement for the Fighting Hawks in his first year at the helm, leading the team to a 6-8-4 overall record and a 4-5-1 conference mark that was the program’s best since joining the Big Sky in 2012. He is the first coach in program history to earn conference coach of the year honors at the Division I level.

Please visit to view a complete list of all-conference selections.

2017 Big Sky Conference Individual Awards
Offensive MVP: Chloe Williams, Eastern Washington
Defensive MVP: Taryn Miller, Montana
Goalkeeper of the Year: Catherine Klein, North Dakota
Newcomer of the Year: Kylee Kim-Bustillos, Sacramento State
Coach of the Year: Chris Logan, North Dakota

Uploaded Ad

Extras for the North Dakota fan

Partnership Opportunities
Mobile Apps