Courtesy: Ryan Powell, UND Media Relations
Head coach Matt Stricker helps Jeremy Kirk line up a putt during the opening round of the 2018 Big Sky Championship.
Kirk paces Fighting Hawks in round of Big Sky play
Release: 04/27/2018
Print RSS

Boulder City, Nev. -- Junior Jeremy Kirk turned in the top round for the North Dakota men's golf team as the Fighting Hawks opened up play in the 2018 Big Sky Championship on Friday.

Kirk made his first loop around the Boulder Creek Golf Club in 74 (+2) and is tied for 13th in the individual standings. Kirk's efforts helped UND salvage a 317 (+29) during the opening round of the 54-hole event.

Sophomore Patrick Traynor also shot in the 70's for the Fighting Hawks on day one. Traynor matched Kirk for the team lead with three birdies and finished with a 79 (+7).

"We didn't get off to the start we wanted to today," UND head coach Matt Stricker said. "I think we need to regroup tonight, talk some things over and do a better job of managing the course tomorrow. I felt like we made a lot of mental mistakes that we are capable of eliminating and that will be a key for us in round two."

Senior Jack McClintock added an 80 (+8) and junior Jordan Smith carded an 84 (+12) to round out the four scorers for UND.

Southern Utah and Northern Colorado separated themselves from the rest of the eight-team field in the race for the tournament trophy. The Thunderbirds (285; -3) claimed a one-stroke lead on the Bears (286; -2), while that duo is nine strokes in front of third-place Weber State (294;+6).

The T-birds were led by Fidel Concepcion, who shot a 67 (-5) to take a two-stroke lead on Northern Colorado's Sam Marley (69; -3). in the race for medalist honors.

UND sits in eighth place with 36 holes to play. Second-round action is set for Saturday.

2018 Big Sky Championship (First Round Results)

1. Southern Utah    285 (-3)
2.    Northern Colorado     286 (-2) 
3. Southern Utah    294 (+6) 
4. Sacramento State    297 (+9)
5. Idaho       299 (+11)
6. Hartford 303 (+15)
7. Binghamton 309 (+21)
8. North Dakota 317 (+29) 

UND Individuals (Final Results)

t13. Jeremy Kirk 74 (+2)
t33.   Patrick Traynor  79 (+7)
35. Jack McClintock     80 (+8)
37. Jordan Smith   84 (+12)
40. Ryan Riihinen   97 (+25)

-- UND --


North Dakota Golf

18-time conference champions
Uploaded Ad

Extras for the North Dakota fan

Partnership Opportunities
Mobile Apps