Senior Daniel Sayler and head coach Tim Swanson chat during his final collegiate round Sunday in Boulder City, Nev.
Kirk, Sayler lead Fighting Hawks in final Big Sky round
Release: 04/30/2017
Print RSS
Boulder City, Nev. --  Senior captain Daniel Sayler and sophomore Jeremy Kirk shared the low score of the day for the North Dakota men's golf team as the Fighting Hawks wrapped up their season with final-round action at the 2017 Big Sky Championship.

Sayler and Kirk both carded a 77 (+5) in their respective final rounds at the Boulder Creek Golf Club. Sayler, playing in his final collegiate tournament, led UND in the 54-hole event with a 238 (+22) to finish 31st.

"We kept improving each day and that was important," UND head coach Tim Swanson said. "It was nice to see Daniel put together a couple of decent rounds there to end his career. He's been a great leader for the program and a pleasure to coach since I've been here."

Kirk's 77 (+5) was his best round of the tournament as he birdied three of his last six holes and made a team-high four on a day that featured the best conditions of the event on a course located in the southern Nevada. Junior Jack McClintock also turned his low round with a 79 (+7).

Sophomore Jordan Smith carded his second-consecutive 80 (+8) to close out the tournament at 249 (+33), while Kirk was second among the UND golfers with a 246 (+30).

Big Sky Golfer of the Year Aaron Beverly of Sacramento State captured medalist honors with a 54-hole total of 215 (-1). He held off a trio of pursuers that finished one stroke behind at 216 (E), including teammate Robert Parden, Big Sky Freshman of the Year Coby Welch from Northern Colorado and Hartford's Elias Gross.

Beverly and the Hornets (874; +10) won the team title in commanding fashion, posting a 15-stroke victory over Northern Colorado (889; +25). Sacramento State posted back-to-back 285's (-3) to take control of the tournament after opening with a 304 (+16). The Hornets advanced to NCAA Regional play next weekend with the victory.

This is the first Big Sky men's golf title for the Hornets since 1997. 

Big Sky Championship (Final Results)

1. Sacramento State    304-285-285 = 874 (+10) 
2.    Northern Colorado      306-303-280 = 889 (+25) 
3. Weber State  303-304-287 = 894 (+30) 
4. Hartford  309-311-289 = 909 (+45)
5. Southern Utah 319-300-295 = 914 (+50)
6. Binghamton  316-313-292 = 921 (+57)
7. Idaho  326-302-295 = 923 (+59)
8. North Dakota 352-320-313 = 985 (+121)

UND Individuals (Final Results)

31. Daniel Sayler 86-75-77 = 238 (+22)
t34. Jeremy Kirk     88-81-77 = 246 (+30)
t37. Jordan Smith      89-80-80 = 249 (+33)
39. Jack McClintock    89-86-79 = 254 (+38)
40. Patrick Traynor 92-84-86 = 262 (+46)

-- UND --


North Dakota Golf

18-time conference champions
Uploaded Ad

Extras for the North Dakota fan

Partnership Opportunities
Mobile Apps