Rowney raises Stanley
Courtesy: Jayson Hajdu, UND Athletic Media Relations
Release: 06/11/2017
Print RSS
Related Links

NASHVILLE -- Carter Rowney is a Stanley Cup champion.

The Pittsburgh rookie forward became the latest University of North Dakota product to hoist the Cup after his Penguins defeated Nashville 2-0 tonight in Game 6 of the Stanley Cup Final.

Rowney was even and had one hit in 7:40 of ice time tonight and was a regular on a Pittsburgh penalty-killing that went 4-4. He played 2:24 of his 7:40 while the Penguins were shorthanded.

It was the 18th time a UND player has won the Stanley Cup and Rowney became the 13th different alum to do so.

"It's a dream," Rowney told CBC's Hockey Night in Canada following the game. "It's been a long road and to get it my first crack at it and be a champion at the end, it's pretty unbelievable."

Rowney appeared in 20 games during the Stanley Cup Playoffs and was a plus-3 with three assists. He tied for second in the NHL with 80 hits during the playoffs, a total topped only by Nashville's Austin Watson (106).

A native of Sexsmith, Alberta, Rowney became UND's first undrafted free agent to win the Stanley Cup since Ed Belfour in 1998-99 with Dallas and its first alum to win it as a rookie since Geoff Smith did it in 1989-90 with Edmonton.

Rowney played at UND from 2009-13 and amassed 32 goals and 41 assists for 73 points in 150 career games. He made his NHL debut this season at age 27 after having spent parts of five seasons in the American Hockey League and East Coast Hockey League.

Rowney and his wife Danielle (Luetzen), a former UND volleyball letterwinner, celebrated the birth of their first child, son Anders, three weeks ago today.

"I can't wait to put him inside that Cup!" said Rowney.


Year  Player  Team
1983-84  Gord Sherven  Edmonton Oilers
1985-86  Craig Ludwig  Montreal Canadiens
1989-90  Geoff Smith  Edmonton Oilers
1990-91  Jay Caufield  Pittsburgh Penguins
1991-92  Jay Caufield  Pittsburgh Penguins
1995-96  Troy Murray  Colorado Avalanche
1998-99  Ed Belfour  Dallas Stars
1998-99  Tony Hrkac  Dallas Stars
1998-99  Craig Ludwig  Dallas Stars
1998-99  Rick Wilson (AC)  Dallas Stars
1999-00  Brad Bombardir  New Jersey Devils
2005-06  Mike Commodore  Carolina Hurricanes
2009-10  Jonathan Toews*  Chicago Blackhawks
2011-12  Matt Greene  Los Angeles Kings
2012-13  Jonathan Toews  Chicago Blackhawks
2013-14  Matt Greene  Los Angeles Kings
2014-15  Jonathan Toews  Chicago Blackhawks
2016-17  Carter Rowney  Pittsburgh Penguins

* - indicates Conn Smythe Trophy winner as playoff MVP
Uploaded Ad

Extras for the North Dakota fan

Partnership Opportunities
Mobile Apps